Home | Directory | News | Discover Wayne County | Find It Fast | Knowledge Center | Things To Do | Find a Member
What's the history of this building?
|This building at the corner of North B and 12th Streets in the Starr District was built as a church for the Central Christian Church (an offshoot of the First Christian) in 1914. That congregation only lasted a few years, and after it folded the building was an auto repair shop, an overflow shop classroom for Garfield School, and other things. The Wayne County Historical Museum is the current owner (April 2008).|
Photo taken April 2, 2008
is not "Billy Sunday's Tabernacle" which was was a temporary
building that held 6,000, and was on the grounds of First Friends
Meeting House on East Main. When the revival was over Earlham bought
the building and "used the lumber for its laundry, hog barn and
Trueblood Fieldhouse." (Pal-Item,
1994). It has occasionally been misidentified as such in
Special thanks to Sue King, archivist at Morrisson-Reeves Library for providing this information.
Copyright Š 1997-2012 Waynet, Inc. All Rights Reserved.