Home | Directory | News | Discover Wayne County | Find It Fast | Knowledge Center | Things To Do | Find a Member

Crumbling Millstones Recall An Earlier Era
These millstone remnants that sit on the northeast side of the U.S. 40 bridge in Cambridge City are reminders of the importance of mills to the early economic stability of Wayne County.


From the Cambridge City, Indiana Traveler - Thursday, August 3, 1945
"An Early Land Mark Now Gone!"
"Originally Conklin Mill Later Imperial Mills"

"The canal was responsible for the erection of Cambridge City's historic Flour Mill.  Built by Jacob Waltz for Benjamin Conklin in 1846, it was considered a colossal structure in its day.  The stone used was quarried on the Henby farm southwest of town.  Its big beams and joists could not be duplicated today.  The walls of brick tapered from the foundation at the rate of four inches for each story until they reached the roof.  Large quantities of wheat had been floured here, at one time 90,000 bushels of wheat being stored within its walls for milling.  Modern machinery had replaced the old water wheels and burrs.  W.A. Creitz, who bought the mill in 1889, continued its operation for almost 40 years when he retired from active business and sold to Mr. Clark, and the mill burned to the ground a year ago."

[Top]


Home Directory Top 20 Sponsors

Questions or Comments?

Copyright Š 1997-2012 Waynet, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Spanish: Traducir este Web site al espaņol.  Japanese: 日本語にこのウェブサイトを翻訳しなさい。  Russian: Перевести этот сайт на русском.  German: Diese Web site zum Deutschen übersetzen.