Home | Directory | News | Discover Wayne County | Find It Fast | Knowledge Center | Things To Do | Find a Member
Photo taken August 6, 2001
The George H. Knollenberg Co. building is still standing in Uptown Richmond at 809 East Main Street. It formerly housed a family-owned department store, once the center of retailing in Richmond.
George H. Knollenberg was born on December 7, 1847 and began working in the dry-goods business when he was only 16. He began his own enterprise 3 years later in 1866. The firm doubled in capacity during the first 5 years.
In 1877, before he was 30, George had purchased the site and built his own building (the tower section on the left). In 1888 the building was expanded to the west (the section with the Knollenberg's sign). In 1896, the company expanded further with another addition to the rear of the current building. This Annex, with frontage on South 8th Street, now houses a Chinese restaurant.
After 130 years as a family-owned business, the Geo. H. Knollenberg Co. closed its doors in 1996. The building has been purchased, remodeled and found new life, currently as a banquet center.
Copyright Š 1997-2012 Waynet, Inc. All Rights Reserved.